Realms of Work.

I have, after about two/three weeks of looking, finally entered the working population! And I have to say, it is incredibly tiring.

Funny thing is, there was no challenge as such in regards to being offered the job. True, I went through a gruelling 18 hours of trials during the first two days, but at no point was there a suggestion of competition. In fact, of all the people they have hired, I am fairly sure I am the only male. With no-one remotely being trained in how to work behind the bar. Which is fine by me!

I work as a bartender/barista at a Turkish/Mediterranean restaurant-bar-bistro thing. Truth be told, I am absolutely loving it. But of course, starting a new job you have no experience in is always very stressful and full of panic.

I spent my first day in an utter state of panic as I tried to keep up with the orders being thrown at me. Luckily an experienced bartender arrived in the evening to help me out, so I followed his lead and tried to mirror what he did as much as possible.

My second day I once again had the experienced bartender there to help me. This time, though, he let me take charge a little more, which helped a lot, actually. Also managed to break my first glass… something that will just become a regularity the longer I work. Not looking forward to that.

The third day (I’m writing this post just before I venture off to work for my fourth day) I was behind the bar on my own, with the experienced bartender working on the floor (waiting tables, that such malarkey). I have to say, apart from a very panicky time where six cocktails were ordered at once, I managed quite well.

Going back to cocktails. This is a bartender’s worst nightmare. not only can they be complicated to make (we have a list of ten that customers can choose from. Some I have never even heard of!), but they are also very time consuming. They look pretty and taste nice, but once you have to make them, you learn to hate them. One day I won’t panic when making them… one day. Maybe in about a year?

cocktails

Anyway, back to the actual post. This is the first time I’ve had a job where I’ve been intent on keeping it for a long duration. My part-time jobs whilst still at school were more of a way to fund trips with friends and so on, and I knew I wouldn’t keep them longer than I needed to. Working whilst travelling (on my Gap Yah, again) obviously would never work as a long-term investment. So, for once, I actually have to be reliable and calm every day.

Today (my fourth working day) I am being left completely alone behind the bar. This should be completely fine, as long as no one orders more than two cocktails at the same time… if that happens, then I am well and truly screwed. And I may just break down and cry.

I feel it is worth noting that, though I did say in one of my previous posts that I would try make my posts at least twice a week, it is looking less likely that it shall happen. I fear it shall be going back to irregular posts when I find the time between work (and sleep. Sleep is good.) to actually write anything.

Furthermore, my legs are slowly giving up. I generally stay on my feet for twelve hours if I’m working a full shift, and I can’t say my smart shoes are the comfiest ever. That’s something else I need to do on my next day-off: buy comfier smart shoes. Oh, and about five black shirts.

And to end this post? The song that has been going through my head since I’ve started working behind a bar: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AF85_vVnrbo

Leave a Reply

